Skip to content

Why I Hate Semantics

2009/07/27

NextStage: Predictive Intelligence, Persuasion Engineering, Interactive Analytics and Behavioral Metrics I hate semantics. It is a destroying, catastrophying influence on all things I hold sacred.

Confusion, for example. How can confusion reign when semantics is in play, clearifying and codifying everything? You sit down for a good afternoon’s combobulation, some good old folks just getting together to invoke some muddiness, some unsurety of what the other person’s saying, and what do you get?

Semantics comes in. Somebody wanting to be understood, somebody wanting to be interpreted correctly, brings along semantics and there you go. Root causes are revealed, similarities are identified, … how do you expect to get your blood up when semantics is in there applying logic, demonstrating implications, revealing foolishness?

Dang, I mean, you stop laughing at each other and start laughing at yourself! We can’t have that, I tell you. Next thing you know, things will start getting done.

Here’s what I’m going to do. I’m going to start a new organization, The Babelists. That’s right, The Babelists, dedicated to misunderstanding and escalating distrust due to unclarity and uncertainty everywhere.

There’ll be lots of people signing up, standing tall on soapboxes of obfuscation and confusiosity proudly declaring “I refuse to be understood! I have the right to not recognize what the other person’s talking about! I don’t want things resolved to everyone’s satisfaction! Do you understand me? I hope not!”

Yeah, that’s right. And I’ll be right here when you’re ready to muddy the waters with me. Anytime.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 2014/08/26 9:30 am

    Yesss! I love this post! Semantics is holding humanity back on a cellular level.

  2. 2014/09/19 4:13 pm

    Thanks, Chloe’…I think.

Leave a Reply

